Skip to content

[Replicable Practices] Week 06: Tagging, Folksonomies & Technorati (Post 1 of 2)

March 27, 2012

Thing #10 Social Bookmarking and Tagging

The sixth week encourages participants of the 23 things @ MPJ adventure to explore social bookmarking. In the old days (although I still primarily use this method) bookmarking or remembering your favourite website meant you had to save or bookmark the website in your local browser. Whenever you wanted to go back to that site you would have to either type the URL, search through it via a search website or reload your bookmark through your web browser on your machine.

To gain a better understanding of what exactly social bookmarking is how it works I watched the following video:

You Tube IconLeFever, L. (Director) (2009). Social bookmarking in plain english [Web]. Retrieved from http://www.commoncraft.com/video/social-bookmarking

I also read the following two articles:

Educase, W. I. (2005, May 05). 7 things you should know about social bookmarking. Retrieved from http://www.scribd.com/full/2329475?access_key=key-2a1e21h5jb4w9sxl5x8j

Sathishkumar. (2011, November 02). How social bookmarking fetches endless traffic? Retrieved from http://www.techiemania.com/how-social-bookmarking-fetches-endless-traffic.html

Comments:

Why is Social booking tagging useful?

 Advantages:

Accessibility. I do not have to pin down or wait to get to my home computer to access bookmarked sites. I can access them via any computer connected to the internet or through my iPhone 4s. I can also decide if my tags and bookmarks are private or public.

Search Ability. Tags help eliminate frustrating searches. No longer do I have to remember exact search phrases or become frustrated with finding content I know is there but cannot find via a search.

Organization. No longer does one have to stick to alpha lists or dates to organize content. Tags are created by humans who have read and appropriately tagged the content. Search engines normally have a program or formula used to rank sites when searched.

Popularity.  People gather at social websites. Chances are your site or your bookmarks will gain in views very easily.

Professionals. Experts could have collected relative sites that I can use as well. Take for instance a professor who has a specialty in Shakespeare. That particular professor may have bookmarked incredible sites that I can use as well, say if I was teaching an English unit on Shakespeare.

Disadvantages:

Inconsistency. Tags or inappropriate tags or miss-tags are linked to different content then using tags become useless. Tags can be spelled incorrectly or have more than one meaning. There is at the moment no standard tag.

How could I use it in my classroom?

Taking advantage of its organization and accessibility and search ability. At the end of the semester a student can search for the final exam via tags and only gather related class and study material to that specific subject tag. For instance I can tag bookmarks to a particular historical event. Both students and I can create reading lists and share popular current events.

Another way that I can use social book marking in my classroom is by having a collection of bookmarks that I share with my students that are the most relevant sources for a particular project or subject. In turn I can have the students search, tag and share their bookmarks with me and other students. This way the students control the content vs. it be given to them.

Clouds

I also happen to think tag clouds are cool. The most highly used tags are usually the largest words in the tag cloud. You better bet the house that there will be at least one exam question related to this concept.

Leave a Reply

