Skip to content

[Replicable Practices] Week 06: Tagging, Folksonomies & Technorati (Post 2 of 2)

March 28, 2012

Thing #11 Bookmarking with Delicious

The sixth week also encourages participants of the 23 things @ MPJ adventure to explore the social bookmarking site Delicious.

Delicious

Having a solid foundation of what social bookmarking is thanks to [Replicable Practices] Week 06: Tagging, Folksonomies & Technorati (Post 1 of 2) I set out to complete Thing # 11 by creating a Delicious site account and watched the following three videos.

Comments:

Delicious User Name: michelangelus

*Additional Bonus Link: Michelangelo Buonarroti

Social bookmarking can be used in my replicable teaching practices because I can develop a shared reading list with my students where both I and my students can collaborate and build together.  Students can begin to take ownership of their own learning by contributing to the content.

Social bookmarking can also enhance team and group working abilities on specific issues. Students can search through information for instance that I have tagged and discriminate through discussion which resources are useful and which are not.

It also helps with the organization, communication and updating of bibliographical references for individual or group projects.

The benefits above would also apply to teachers that collaborate within their departments as well as through across curricular. I can search out say bookmarks from the Religion department to help a resource student with a religion project.

Personally it enhances my productivity because of the accessibility via other computers connected to the internet vs. my local bookmarked sites. It also helps me gather sites and resources that others have found reducing my search time.

A Future Thing: Diigo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

