Skip to content

[Replicable Practices] Week 11: Back to Week 01 (Post 1 of 1)

April 1, 2012

Thing #18 My 23 Reflections – Mr. M. Simari

My final task which is not at all an encouraged requirement for the participants of the 23 things @ MPJ adventure. It is a task that I decided to complete on my own because I felt that I needed to evaluate my newly formed learning network. For juxtaposition sake I quoted Thing #01 Lifelong Learning post below.

The 23 things @ MPJ adventure was a very informative and a worth while adventure. I am going to continue this blog with a new set of ‘Things’ that I discover (I am after all now part of Twitter and a networked learner).

At first completing the things was more of a checklist of requirements. Read the thing, complete the task, reflect and move on to the next thing. It was more about getting it done and less about how I can use it in my life (personally and professionally).

As I moved forward with the tasks I found myself speaking about the things more often with my colleagues. Conversations usually began by someone asking:

“Why would anyone want to sign up for (insert name of thing here)?”

Slowly however the focus turned to:

” . . . (insert name of thing here) would be a help here” or “this is a perfect example where (insert name of thing here) could be used.”

Somehow the things became part of a face to face in school learning network (spontaneous). Why then limit myself to a few master teachers here in the school (here come the networked part) when I can become part of a greater personal learning network.

At first I was feeling bombarded with new signups and new things to learn, however it became less about quantity and more focused on quality. I then asked myself

“How can I make full use of the my new knowledge about Web 2.0 tools so that I can create quality replicable teaching practices for my colleagues and students?”

My comments in my very first post are still very true. Thing #01 Lifelong Learning. However I would like to include one of my favourite quotes taken from Tiny Bursts of Learning by Chris Betcher:

Learning needs to be ongoing. The world is changing.

A million awesome things

Thing #01 Lifelong Learning

The introduction task encourages participants of the 23 things @ MPJ adventure to look at the site below:

Young, S. H. (2011, July 31). 15 steps to cultivate lifelong learning. Retrieved from http://www.lifehack.org/articles/lifestyle/15-steps-to-cultivate-lifelong-learning.html

Comments:

After reading the article I could not help thinking back to the summers I had spent with my grandfather and grandmother. There was never a summer day that went by where my grandfather did not repeat his personal motto to me. He would say:

Michael take time to learn anything and everything you can. Learn a skill no matter how big or how small, one day you will be thankful that you learned that skill, it will serve you well. Learn it, set it aside but do not forget it.  (Ernesto Salerno)

The 15 steps to cultivate lifelong learning speaks to me on a very personal level. Step 2 “keep a to learn list” and step 3 “get more intellectual friends” are two steps that I am very thoughtful in carrying out. It would be a challenge to have everything on your to learn list crossed off since the list is continually growing however it keeps the learning process moving forward, creating many sub or side lists to work from. Surrounding myself with  intellectual friends can be intimidating and uncomfortable but it is within that uncomfortable feeling that learning takes place.  My career as a teacher has certainly helped me carry out both steps.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

